jump to navigation

September 28, 2009

Posted by Nora in Uncategorized.
trackback

Tip #15:  Pin the Tail on the Sight Word!

 I love coming up with fun ideas to incorporate into my word wall.  Of course, Pin the Tail on the Donkey is a classic game, but this “word wall” twist has recently made reading sight words motivating and fun for my six year old son, Owen.

First, I spread out the sight words on his magnetic word wall.  Next, I use a bandana to blindfold Owen.  Then, I spin him around (just once – so as not to get too far off course).  And finally, he moves toward the wall with a small sticky note and places it on a word!

Well, to my surprise, this new word wall game has quickly become a favorite!!  Owen loves to lift up the blindfold every time and read the word that he placed the sticky note on!  What’s more, he can’t wait to do it again and again!  (Oh, and just in case your child misses landing on a word repeatedly, you can tell him to read the word that is “closest” to where he placed the sticky note!)

Reading sight words can be so much fun!

 

And thank you to my loyal readers who may have noticed that I haven’t written in a few weeks.  I have actually returned to the classroom where I am teaching Fourth Grade!!  It has been a very busy month getting back into the groove of teaching full time.  Hopefully, I will get back on track with my weekly entries – soon!

Comments»

1. JimmyBean - October 1, 2009

I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

A definite great read..Jim Bean

2. Bill Bartmann - October 9, 2009

Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!


Leave a Reply

