jump to navigation

Back to School – Part 2 September 25, 2010

Posted by Nora in Uncategorized.
trackback

So I’m back to teaching fourth grade for the second year and now that I have a few weeks under my belt, I’m ready to get back to writing.  I do write every day in class with my students.  It’s a great way to model writing and it’s important for my students to see me make mistakes and need revision. In fact, they love to take on the role of teacher and try their hand at editing a piece of my writing.  Likewise, it is great for beginning readers and experienced readers to be surrounded by good reading models. When we read aloud to our children, we are showing them how to use expression and how to pause for punctuation. You can even have some fun with your children at home by reading monotone or without paying attention to punctuation and see how quickly they pick up on it. I am a firm believer that the more animation and excitement we put into our read alouds for children, the more likely they are to become expressive and enthusiastic  readers themselves.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

