jump to navigation

Writing Picture Books with my Students November 6, 2010

Posted by Nora in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, I guess things have been very busy in my teaching life as I have not posted for a few weeks. My fourth graders are keeping me hard at work…and I can’t believe how fast Fall is flying by!  We spent the last two weeks of October writing Halloween “picture books”. It was a blast!  The students wrote their rough drafts in mock dummy books, and then edited and revised with me. Then, each student selected their own book’s size and shape for their final copy! They read their books aloud to our class as well as to our first grade buddy class.  Writing a picture book, as a way to teach children how to create a story, can be a fun and non-threatening approach. In fact, some of my reluctant writers did their best writing ever with this format. Sometimes, when children see that they just have to write a few sentences on a page, rather than fill a whole sheet of lined paper, they end up writing even more.  What’s more, when my fourth graders knew that they were going to share their books with a first grade audience, they took extra care to include correct grammar and punctuation and a strong beginning, middle and end.  After this picture book experience, my students are already asking when we will write another one!!  Awesome!  I’m thinking we will get started writing “Holiday” picture books right after Thanksgiving.  Happy Writing!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

