jump to navigation

Reading Nonfiction March 9, 2011

Posted by Nora in Uncategorized.
trackback

After just a few days of our new reading unit on nonfiction, one of my students said to me, “Thank you for opening up the world of nonfiction to me.”  What better reward could there be than that?

 My fourth grade class is immersed in a nonfiction study that focuses on developing powerful nonfiction readers. For the first time, my students are seeing that there is more to nonfiction than “collecting facts”.  Today, my students stepped into the role of “expert” and taught their reading partner about an important part of their book/subject.  It was inspiring.

My students are really beginning to understand that powerful nonfiction readers hold on to important ideas and  make connections across subjects. Today, they also developed an understanding of how powerful it is to teach someone else what they have learned as a  READER.

Comments»

1. SY - September 21, 2011

Nora, I had been trying for a long time to get my 4y/o to read. I had bought so many books hoping that she would somehow feel compelled to learn reading on her own. Well, nothing works until I got your books! Thanks to Animal Antics, Geralynn’s confidence in reading was greatly boosted and she had successfully read 6 books on her own in 1 week. Thank you Nora!

2. Char - October 23, 2011

Can we purchase additional stickers? I am a grandmother of triplets and would like to order two more set of stickers to go with all the Level 1 books. Is that possible?


Leave a Reply

